Much to be thankful for!

Though we’ve experienced some speed bumps along the way, Jordan and I have much to be thankful for on this American holiday in November.

Some casualties thus far:

  • I left my i-pod charger in Beijing.
  • Jordan left her phone charger along with my flip flops and sunglasses in Hong Kong.
  • I left my copy of A Thousand Sisters in Hanoi with only 50 pages left to read.
  • Jordan left her copy of Lonley Planet:Southeast Asia along with postcards and memorabilia tucked into the cover.
  • Jordan left her Tiffany’s heart and favorite Egyptian pendant on the boat that took us to Ha Long Bay in Vietnam.
  • I nearly lost my WHOLE backpack when it was put on the wrong boat up the Mekong River on our journey from Ho Chi Minh City to Phnom Penh, but it was thankfully recovered (I cringed at the thought of squeezing into Jordan’s clothes or having only one spare set that would make me smell worse than I already did).
  • Jordan left her (new!) hiking boots on the bus ride from Phnom Penh to Siem Reap, where I lost and found my memory card containing 800 pictures!

But, everything we’ve lost is replaceable. Luckily, we have our photos, passports, wallets and eyeballs. More importantly, people who care if we’ve made it to each destination safely, who take interest in a silly travel blog, and to send postcards to back home.

In a place where poverty is rampant, it is obvious that we could all focus less on material things and re-prioritize what is really important and I think we’d all be surprised how easy it is to do without the things that we once deemed necessary.

I haven’t had a traditional Thanksgiving in years. Last year I spent it eating Ramen noodles in Japan, the year before I had an emergency appendectomy, and the year before that I spent it on a bus to the Honolulu airport eating a subway sandwich and praying that Jordan wouldn’t miss her flight home just because we decided to soak up some extra rays.

The point is, it doesn’t matter how or where we choose to spend the holiday, but I think it’s important to atleast recollect our priorities and note what we’re truly thankful for. Here’s a thanks to my friends and family, good health, and to the car that very thankfully didn’t claim Brian Denelle’s life.

2 thoughts on “Much to be thankful for!

Leave a Reply

